Home to Roost   4 comments


Our resident stork

They have returned. The storks are back in Latvia, a good sign of Spring. We are blessed to have a nest at the bottom of our garden area and so the picture you see above. We begin our days checking to see if one or both of them are in the nest. We have observed mating activity and await the time when they will sit upon the eggs. We enjoy watching them come and go from the nest.

'Our' Stork PairThey are so interesting to watch, the way they seem to communicate – we often put words in their mouths making up conversations they might be having. The nest seems to be built on a man-made platform. In Latvia having a storks nest on your land is purported to bring good luck, so measures are taken to ‘invite’ them to nest. The white stork usually nests near people and is generally not bothered by human activity near by.  Underneath our storks nest is the goat shed and also a chicken shed with people coming and going. The storks seem to ignore the activity and get on with refurbishing their nest.

Ian washing the 'baby'Today Ian was inspired by the sunshine to get out and wash the ‘baby.’ After one month of driving through snow and now slush she really needed a bath. The sun is quite warm and you can see our drive is now clear of snow but not quite the garden, yet. The ‘baby’ really needs a proper wash but he did what he could.

Other activities today included taking an old sack of ash and spreading it over our garden plot to help the snow melt. We also were inspired inside the house to use an uneeded bookcase shell and make a holder for wood next to the wood stove.New wood holder next to wood stoveIt may seem like a small thing but we are enjoying the small things in life that make a difference. I had the idea and Ian cut down the shell and painted the area of wall just behind the position of the wood holder. It makes for a very tidy look and somewhat easier to keep that area clean.

We know that Spring is making its presence known as we only had the stove going this morning and left it empty until this evening. As we went to church this evening I only wore a blazer and no outer coat. The sun is quite warm even with the snow in close proximity. I am hoping that if the sunshine holds I can hang out my sheets tomorrow, ah sun dried sheets, can’t wait.

Yesterday held an interesting experience. Our friend Joanna offered to go with us to the local butcher as it is open a few hours on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. So we picked her up and went just up the road and joined the queue that was nearly out the inner door of the small shop. We knew before we went what meat would be available, pork, pork and more pork. But I still craned my neck to see what the glass cases held. I wanted Ian there as he is gifted in picking good cuts of meat. We talked with Joanna about what sausages would be best and she pointed out the black pudding and some nice small roasts. Of course not having the language it is, point and hold up fingers to say how much or viens kilo, meaning one kilo. This I did for 4 sausages, 1 black pudding and 1 small roast. Then she added it up and in good English said 4.56 Lats, please. I smiled and said paldies (thank you) and gave her a five lat note. Joanna said outside how surprised she was that the lady spoke English as she had never done so with her. I hope she is there when I go back on Tuesday to buy more of those yummy sausages.

Outside the shop and elderly nearly toothless lady stopped me and indicated she wanted money. I smiled and said no but it was hard. Many here are quite poor but you just don’t know the circumstances. Ian was carrying the meat and had gone on ahead or I may have given her some sausage. It shook me a bit and I  keep remembering her and praying for provision for her. Joanna said she hadn’t seen her before and had not been approached by anyone in Ergli, begging. Riga, the capitol, yes but not here in such a small place. Again the issue of language, I would have liked to ask her, “what do you want me to do for you?” I am waiting for discernment and preparation  from the Lord if there is a next time. I will ask my friend Kristine who is Latvian and has lived here for a few years, she may know something of this lady.  Kristine’s  husband is American, Dustin, and is a local Baptist pastor. They sat and chatted with us after the fellowship service this evening. I have known them for several years. I was introduced to them when my friend Kim and I went to visit them in Canada before I came to England. They also visited me in England a few years after I had moved there. Now here we all are in Latvia. Amazing the way the Father works.

We are still waiting for the lambing to start. We are going out to the camp in the morning to the prayer meeting at nine and then out and about to have a good look at the flock. Ian will be casting his experienced eye over the pregnant ewes looking for imminent signs of birth. Me, I’ll just be tagging along with the camera to shoot any photo opps. Next week will probably be focused on the lambing, we hope. When we spend time near the sheep so many scriptures become very real coming to life in ways that just reading them, can never convey. Be prepared for some sheep/lamb/shepherd meditations – sermons.

Posted 05/04/2009 by ergliangel45 in Uncategorized

4 responses to “Home to Roost

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love hearing your news, Kathleen!

  2. Thanks Shilo I enjoy the reflection as I write it.

    ergliangel45
  3. really good to read, makes one appreciate the simple things of life, But God is good to us.

    • So true Roger Jesus said “consider the lilies” meaning contemplate and see the creators message, listen to what He is saying. Still learning this process but so glad for such an opportunity.

      ergliangel45

Leave a Reply

