Hello, Again and Happy New Year, 2014   12 comments


Image

Christmas was put away (only the decorations) on Monday the 6th and some changes were made in the decor for a fresh perspective. Some friends gave me the lovely blue and white Royal Copenhagen candles that inspired the  mantle arrangement. I enjoy looking around the house at what we have that can bring change and a new look. I am not very creative but I sometimes pretend that I am and I love to try things to see if they settle with my heart.

Ian and I continue to engage with the reality of aging and wonder some days, where our energy and motivation went. Ian spends part of each day caring for his chickens and turkeys.

009 010 011 013 014A couple of the chicken types like to roost in the barn window and the cockerel crows whenever he thinks someone might be looking at him.

007 008It is encouraging to hear the roosters crow through out the day. It was really funny when they were little and learning to crow, they sounded a bit crow-challenged. We can’t hear them unless we are outside so they don’t bother anyone, that we know of, at least.

Lass and Saulite continue to thrive especially in our mild winter weather.

001 002You see Lass in her guard position or actually just the local gossip watching to see what the neighbors are doing. Saulite is focused on the interior and anyone whom she can charm to  let her in. I just checked the forecast and it may snow tonight, tomorrow and through the weekend. The furry children may not be too pleased with that.

A few other things I/we have moved or changed.

004 005The top picture shows the change in our living room suite. We have a nice previously owned shop in Bouska and we found a 3 piece suite with sofa, love seat and arm chair for a very reasonable price. It wasn’t a whim but the need for more seating than our Ikea pieces were providing.

The next picture shows the new position of my desk under the stairs where the saddle used to sit. The saddle now has its own place, not being shared with the organ. Maybe next time there will be a picture of that area.

Our daily lives are rather quiet with most of our socializing done on line. We remain in the waiting mode for God’s next door to open for us here in Stelpe or beyond. Our current call to encourage remains in place and we are hoping to reach out with the abundance of eggs we currently are harvesting. It may have eggs-septional results. On that “strong” note I will close until the next inspiration hits.

006My 3 year old orchid flowering abundantly for the 4th or 5th time.

Posted 09/01/2014 by ergliangel45 in Uncategorized

Tagged with

12 responses to “Hello, Again and Happy New Year, 2014

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Kathleen, It was a lovely surprise to read your email just now. I loved looking at your pictures, especially the one in the living room with the blue items all together. Maybe this could be the Blue Room. Tell me how you managed to get the Orchid to bloom again as I have had mine for nearly 2 years and its bare!! I mentioned to Ian this morning that we hope to be in Latvia in April and if you were free maybe we could meet up again. I wished we lived nearer as I would be round to buy your fresh eggs every week. There is nothing like the taste of a fresh egg. Hope all is well with you. Love Dorothy. x

    Dorothy Ellis
  2. Hello Dear Kathleen, It is always nice to hear from you. I love all the pics… the Royal Copenhagen blue, my favorite! Oh, and that orchid!!!! You have a green thumb. I recently moved in to an apartment… it was a bittersweet move to say the least. I am back enjoying the internet, and reading the news I’ve missed. Fresh eggs… yes, I’m still enjoying them too! Take care, and happy new year to you and Ian. Love, Karen

    • Sorry you had to move, if it was not what your heart wanted. I hope it is a green thumb and not just an accident with the orchid. We are enjoying the eggs and especially sharing them. Thanks for letting me know you are still on board with my poor blogging habits.

      ergliangel45
  3. Love the new additions! Makes me feel like I’ve just had a visit. I’m in my new office putting things on my new shelves. Hopefully I can get a pic to you when I am finished. You know how bad I am about that! xoxoxoKaty

  4. Dear Kathleen & Ian,have just sat down at the computer & looked up your blog I dont have too much time to do things just for my self.
    It was great to see that you are both doing well,I know what you mean about slowing down I dont seem to be able to get through half the things I plan in the morning at the end of the day there was not that much done.Today it is too hot to work outside in the garden 35 & getting hotter so a good excuse to sit here.Karl & Yvette are well & so is John but he does keep us rather occupied.I asked Karl if we could get 2 hens(our neighbour have 2)
    but he said no way!!! would love to have those fresh eggs again.Have heard from my relatives that Latvija is having a very strange winter quite amazing when the USA & Canada are freezing.All the best to you both for 2014 the year of the horse (That is me)I hope you get this but I dont know if I have to press any extra buttons I am not very good at this computer stuff.Love to you both Maira.

    Maira Kluina
    • Maira, So good to hear from you. Yes, we are having a weird winter. We did get a light snow fall yesterday. Did our Christmas package/envelope ever arrive? I have another friend who is dealing with the hot temps in your area of the world. I would rather have the cold. If you were a bit closer we would happily share our eggs. Ha ha.

      ergliangel45
  5. Wow, pretty! Love the chicken pictures.

    • Thanks for dropping in. I gather you live in my home state of Oregon.

      ergliangel45
      • Oh, is that where you’re from as well? Awesome! Yes, I’ve lived here for around 20 years now and think it one of the most beautiful places on the planet. It’s amazing that you’ve landed halfway across the world in Latvia, that’s quite a journey.

      • Yes, quite a journey. I lived in England for 12 years before moving to Latvia in 2009.I was born and raised in Portland. Spent most summers in Lincoln City with my grandparents. I also lived in So Cal and Colorado.

        ergliangel45
      • Oh, man–I’m a bit envious. Love Portland so much that I would have loved to have been born and grown up here :) England is a great place too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

